Office of Rural Health (ORH)

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
 

Native Domain

Office of Rural Health Native Domain - American Indian, Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian, Pacific Islander

Native Veterans represent the highest proportion of rural Veterans in the country. The often isolated and dispersed nature of rural Native Veterans presents significant barriers for access and quality of care. In response to these challenges, the Office of Rural Health established the Native Domain to serve as a national resource on healthcare issues for rural Native Veterans.
Learn more about the Native Domain.

Highlights

American Indian/Alaska Native Culture Card: A Guide to Build Cultural Awareness Webinar

A Webinar intended to enhance cultural competence when serving American Indian and Alaska Native communities will be presented by Captain R. Andrew Hunt, Public Health Advisor for SAMHSA on Wednesday, April 23, 2014 at 1:00pm Eastern/12:00pm Central/10am Pacific/9am Alaska. The Webinar will cover regional differences; cultural customs; spirituality; communications styles; the role of Veterans and the elderly, and health disparities, such as suicide. No registration is required.

At the end of this presentation, participants will be able to:

  • Explain the history of the American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) culture card,
  • Identify how the AI/AN culture card brings awareness, acceptance, and valuing of cultural differences, and
  • Recognize the range of dynamics that result from the interaction between people of different cultures.

Learn more about this Webinar.

Natives & the Military: 10 Facts You Might Not Know - Indian Country Today, January 9, 2014

"Considering American Indian and Alaska Native Veterans have served in every branch of the U.S. Military for well over the past 200 years, It goes without saying that their efforts and histories of distinguished services should be recognized."

"In addition to any recognition, while studying the facts surrounding Native Veterans through such reports as released by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) or the historical accounts of War Department officials, you will discover some interesting facts about Native Veterans outside the fact that American Indians serve at a high rate and have a higher concentration of female servicemembers."

Ten interesting and surprising facts…

Read the article.

View All Stories

.

Focus Areas

Population Science — Native demographics, healthcare utilization and patterns within VA.

Policy — Development of strategic recommendations and policy planning based on existing data.

Programs — Implementation, identification and dissemination of information on best practices for Native clinical care and outreach.

Contact

Questions or Comments?
Contact Native Domain Staff
ORHNative@va.gov

Share